Kiln
Desktop workbench and Python library for developing and evaluating AI systems.
- Tool type
- AI development workbench
- Made for
- AI teams
- Runs on
- Desktop and Python
- App downloads are listed for macOS, Windows, and Linux; the library documentation specifies Python 3.10+.
What it does
Kiln is a desktop workbench and optional Python library for teams developing AI systems. Engineers and data scientists can work with datasets, prompts, models, and documents; build retrieval-augmented generation (RAG) tasks; and evaluate changes with LLM-as-judge scoring, golden datasets, or human ratings. It also supports prompt optimization, fine-tuning, synthetic-data generation, and composing tools and sub-agents. The AI assistant can help create experiments and optimize systems.
The desktop app is offered for macOS, Windows, and Linux. Developers can use the Python library from a codebase or notebook, or choose the documented self-hostable REST API. Product managers, QA staff, and subject-matter experts can contribute feedback and ratings. The Individual tier is free; Team access is requested, and Enterprise pricing is custom. The Python library is MIT-licensed, while the desktop app is source-available. Kiln says datasets and evals live on the user's machine and can sync through a Git repository; Kiln Pro features run on Kiln's servers. Pricing does not specify external model or compute charges.
What it can do
- Build RAG document and search tasks
- Create and run evaluations, including LLM-as-judge scoring
- Optimize prompts against evaluations
- Fine-tune models and generate synthetic data
- Compose tools and sub-agents
- Sync datasets with Git and collect team feedback
Works with
- Git
- MCP
Before you choose
- Kiln Pro features run on Kiln's servers; the pricing page says datasets and evals live on the user's machine and sync through a repository the user controls.
- The desktop app is source-available, not described as open source; the Python library is MIT-licensed.
- Team access is request-based and Enterprise pricing is custom. External model-provider or compute charges are not specified.
Listed under
Get started
Kiln offers a free download; Team access is requested separately.
- Download the desktop app for a listed operating system, or install the Python library with `pip install kiln_ai`.
- For library use, load a Kiln project or dataset into your notebook or codebase; the library is optional for app users.
- Select the app, library, or self-hostable REST API route; request access for the Team tier.
Plans and prices
Individual is free. Team requires access; Enterprise is custom, with annual contracts mentioned. Kiln Pro features run on Kiln's servers. External model-provider or compute charges are not specified.
- Open-source Python library
- Source-available desktop app
- Local datasets with Git sync
- Kiln Pro standard models, rate limited
- Community support
- Everything in Individual
- Kiln Pro enhanced models and higher limits
- Automatic agent optimization
- Priority access to new features
- Email support
- Everything in Team
- SSO / SAML
- Annual contracts and procurement support
- SLA and priority support
- Dedicated solutions engineer
- Custom onboarding and training
Source: kiln.tech/pricing, checked 1 Nov 2026. Prices can change; check before you buy.
Sources for this overview
Product pages, documentation, and pricing checked 1 Nov 2026. Each source supports part of the overview; availability and prices can change.
Ratings and reviews
No ratings for Kiln yet.
What’s changed
Free accountSignals
Free accountData and security
Free accountCompare with similar tools
Free accountWhere this comes from
How we research- Company website
- kiln.tech: product, pricing and policy pages
- YC directory mirror
- Batch and company name
- Human review
- Checked by a person
- knowledge_base
- manual_review
Last checked 1 Nov 2026. Every field keeps its source and date; unknown means we couldn’t confirm it.